Hiking Week: Capo Vaticano / Monte Poro

 
May I introduce myself?
Hiking Areas in Calabria
Hiking Programme 2014
Hiking Weeks
Day Excursions
Hiking Ideas
Aspromonte  National Park on your own
Small & Large Groups
Culinary Delights
How to get there
Contact & Booking
News from the Blog

 

                
info@sabinement.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

4th - 11th May 2014          25th May - 1st  June 2014          8th  - 15th  June 2014
7th  - 14th  September 2014          21st - 28th  September 2014


The perfect mix is what distinguishes: "Hiking, swimming and culture"

Als Unterkunft dient uns ein gemütliches 3*-Hotel in Capo Vaticano. Discover on four days the Calabrian mountains around Capo Vaticano and then jump into the sea. Go one day by train along the coast to Reggio di Calabria and enjoy culture and shopping or take an extra hike in the Aspromonte National Park. Our accomodation is a cozy 3***-hotel in Capo Vaticano.



Detailed Programme

1st day: Arrival

Ankunft am Flughafen Lamezia Terme, Transfer nach Capo Vaticano, Hotelbezug. Vor dem Abendessen gemütlicher Aperitif, bei dem wir unser Wochenprogramm besprechen. Arrival at Lamezia Terme Airport, transfer to Capo Vaticano, hotel check-in. Before dinner we meet for aperitif and talk about our weekly programme.

2nd day: To the old mill

Today's walk takes us through vineyards and country roads down to a valley where we will find a still functioning old mill. We will continue through fields with magnificent views of the blue sea to an old Saracen tower, the Torre Marrana. We will pass through two picturesque small villages and a few farms before we take a break, not far from the hotel for a snack made up of many delicious treats. In the early afternoon our walk ends at the hotel. Take a rest, sunbathing on the beach or by the pool. In the early evening you may want to watch the sunset at the nearby Capo Vaticano, during the extensive tour around the Cape: We will also be able to enjoy the views from the ledge here, which protrudes right out to sea. There is also a variety of lush vegetation in this area and many great photo opportunities. (Hiking time: about 3,5 hours, Altitude:about 60 m uphill and 300 m downhill)

3rd day: The rural Calabria

Near the Capo Vaticano our hike begins along small paved road and across a field to the plateau of Mount Poro. Here the majority of local cheeses such as feta, ricotta and mozzarella are produced. During the ascent you can enjoy a magnificent view of Capo Vaticano. Once at the top, lunch will be served in a local restaurant and you will get a taste of the cheese that is produced locally. Afterwards we will continue to the pilgrimage church of Madonna del Carmine, from here we descend on a beautiful path between cactus plants, chestnut and olive trees to the coastal town of Joppolo. (Hiking time: 4-4 ½ hours, Altitude: about 400 m uphill and 600 m downhill)

4th Tag (OPTIONAL):

Reggio Calabria - art, culture and time to relax or extra hike in the Aspromonte National Park

5th day: The caves of Zungri

After a day off it is time again for a good hike along beautiful untouched natural paths. We will reach today's highlight in the morning: the old abandoned caves of Zungri offer wonderful insights into medieval cave life. Our trail leads us through a breathtaking landscape, past the small remnants of an ancient Roman villa with everything from a cistern to a small mountain lake which marks the end of today's hike. (Hiking time: about 4,5 hours, Altitude: about 500 uphill and downhill)

6th day: Amazing sea view

Today we will make our way to the coastal town of Palmi. A short detour to the ethnographic museum will give us a good insight into traditional customs of the Calabrian people, from magic and religious beliefs to the carpet weaving traditions and life of the shepherd. After this we will take a wonderful walk along the sloping flank of Mount S. Elia towards the sea. This marks the highlight of our hiking week: on a clear day there is a beautiful view of the Costa Viola, the Aeolian Islands and the Strait of Messina. (Hiking time: about 3 hours, Altitude: about 300 m uphill and downhill)

7th day: Free day

Depending on the weather and your mood, you can enjoy a day at the beach or go by train to Tropea to visit the weekly market or to Pizzo and have an ice cream ...
 

8th Tag: Departure

Transfer to Lamezia Terme Airport and flight home.

 

Services:
 
  • 7 nights i 3*-hotel including half board
  • Transfer from/to Lamezia Terme Airport and during the hikes
  • Official English speaking hiking guide on day 2, 3, 5, 6
  • Excursions as described in the programme
  • Small group of 4 - 15 persons
  • Guaranteed to depart!
 

Price:

 
  • € 700,00 per person in double room
  • € 760,00 per person in single room

Please contact us for further information, quotations and bookings at 0039 348 44 50 890 or at info@sabinement.com.

back

 

Sabine Ment

Guida turistico-ambientale

Via Vittorio Emanuele 163, I-89862 Brattirò, P.IVA 02251400798

Tel. 0039 348 4450890          info@sabinement.com

Wanderwoche: Capo Vaticano / Monte Poro

 
Darf ich mich vorstellen?
Die Wandergebiete Kalabriens
Wanderprogramm 2017
Wanderreisen
Tagesausflüge
Wanderideen
Aspromonte  National-park auf eigene Faust
Canyoning
Kleine & grosse Gruppen
Kulinarisches
Anreise
Kontakt & Buchungen

 

                
info@sabinement.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

16. - 23. April 2017          30. April - 7. Mai 2017          14. - 21. Mai 2017          4. - 11. Juni 2017
3. - 10. September 2017          17. - 24. September 2017          1. - 8. Oktober 2016


Die perfekte Mischung macht's: "Wandern, baden und Kultur"

Entdecken Sie an vier Tagen die kalabresische Bergwelt rund um Capo Vaticano und springen Sie anschliessend ins Meer. Fahren Sie an einem Tag mit dem Zug entlang der Küste nach Reggio di Calabria und geniessen Sie Kultur und Shopping oder machen Sie eine Extra-Wanderung in den Aspromonte-Nationalpark. Als Unterkunft dient uns ein gemütliches 3*-Hotel in Capo Vaticano.



Detailprogramm

1. Tag: Ankunft

Ankunft am Flughafen Lamezia Terme, Transfer nach Capo Vaticano, Hotelbezug. Vor dem Abendessen gemütlicher Aperitif, bei dem wir unser Wochenprogramm besprechen.

2. Tag: Zur alten Mühle

Unsere erste Wanderung führt uns durch Weinberge und Feldwege ins Flusstal hinab zu einer noch funktionstüchtigen Mühle. Weiter geht es über Felder mit herrlicher Aussicht auf das blaue Meer bis zu einem alten Sarazenenturm, dem „Torre Marrana“.  Wir durchqueren zwei malerische kleine Dörfchen und einige Landwirtschaftsbetriebe bevor wir uns schon in der Nähe des Hotels zu einem Imbiss aus vielen kleinen Leckereien niederlassen. Am früheren Nachmittag endet unsere Wanderung im Hotel. Danach ist Ruhe und Sonnenbaden am Meer oder am Pool angesagt. Wer möchte, kann am frühen Abend den Sonnenuntergang am nahegelegenen Capo Vaticano mit einem ausgiebigen Rundgang um das Kap verbinden: Der sehr weit ins Meer hinausragende Felsenvorsprung besticht mit seiner üppigen Vegetation und Fotomotiven der Spitzenklasse. (Dauer: ca. 3,5 Std., Höhenmeter: 60 m aufwärts, 300 m abwärts)

3. Tag: Das bäuerliche Kalabrien

Unsere heutige Wanderung führt uns von Capo Vaticano auf unseren Hausberg, den Monte Poro, wo ein Grossteil der lokalen Käsespezialitäten produziert wird (Schafskäse, Ricotta…). Während des Aufstiegs bietet sich ein atemberaubender Blick auf Capo Vaticano. Auf dem Berg angekommen werden wir uns bei einem Mittagessen in einem typischen Lokal von den Strapazen erholen und alle lokalen Spezialitäten verkosten. Der Abstieg führt uns gen Süden in das Örtchen Joppolo, von wo wir wieder zurück fahren. (Dauer ca. 5 Std., Höhenmeter: 600 m)

4. Tag (FAKULTATIV):

Reggio Calabria - Kunst, Kultur und Zeit zum Entspannen oder Wanderung im Aspromonte-Nationalpark

5. Tag: Die Grotten von Zungri

Bei den einst von Basilianermönchen bewohnten, über hundert in Tuffstein gegrabenen Grotten beginnt unsere Wanderung, die uns auf schmalen Pfaden durch urige Landschaft zu dem Geisterdorf Papaglionti und den Überresten einer römischen Villa führt.  Danach geht es quer über die Weiden weiter bis zum See von Zungri. Eine herrliche Wanderung, die viel Geschichte in atemberaubender Landschaft bietet. (Dauer ca. 5 Std., Höhenmeter: 500 m)

6. Tag: Herrliche Meersicht

Fahrt nach Palmi und Besuch des ethnografischen Museums, wo die Traditionen Kalabriens auf sehr anschauliche Weise dargestellt sind, und uns so einen Einblick ins kalabresische Seelenleben gewährt wird. Nachmittags Wanderung hoch über dem Meer entlang der Bergflanke des Monte S. Elia. Unterwegs bietet sich ein atemberaubender Blick auf die Costa Viola (violette Küste), so genannt wegen der intensiven Farbe des Meeres, auf die Meerenge von Messina und die Äolischen Inseln. (Dauer ca. 3 Std., Höhenmeter: 300 m)

7. Tag: Tag zur freien Verfügung

Je nach Wetter, Lust und Laune können Sie heute einen Tag am Meer geniessen oder im Zug nach Tropea zum Wochenmarkt oder nach Pizzo zum Eis essen fahren...

8. Tag: Abreise

Transfer zum Flughafen Lamezia Terme und Heimflug.

Leistungen:
 
  • 7 Übernachtungen im 3*-Hotel inkl. Halbpension
  • Transfer ab/bis Flughafen Lamezia Terme und während der Wanderungen
  • 4 Wanderungen mit offiziellem Wanderführer
  • Ausflüge wie im Programm beschrieben
  • Kleingruppe mit 4 - 15 Personen
 

Preise:

 
  • € 720,00 pro Person im Doppelzimmer
  • € 860,00 pro Person im Einzelzimmer

Für weitere Informationen, Offerten und Buchungen kontaktieren Sie uns bitte unter Tel. 0039 348 44 50 890 oder info@sabinement.com.

home

 

Sabine Ment

Guida turistico-ambientale

Via Vittorio Emanuele 163, I-89862 Brattirò, P.IVA 02251400798

Tel. 0039 348 4450890          info@sabinement.com