Individual Hiking Week

 
May I introduce myself?
Hiking Areas in Calabria
Hiking Programme 2014
Hiking Weeks
Day Excursions
Hiking Ideas
Aspromonte  National Park on your own
Small & Large Groups
Culinary Delights
How to get there
Contact & Booking
News from the Blog

 

                
info@sabinement.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

29th March - 22nd June 2014          30th  August - 26th  October 2014

"Aspromonte National Park on your own"

Discover the Aspromonte National Park on your onw, equipped with a rental car, maps, precise route-descriptions for hiking and driving and a lot of useful tips. Follow your own rhythm in harmony with nature, stop whenever and wherever you want and do what you feel like doing! You will follow in the footsteps of the Greeks in wild and almost untouched nature. See  nearly dried up river beds, colourful fields of flowers, bergamot groves and follow the goat paths. The hikes last from 3 to 6 ½ hours each day. You will be accommodated in two agritourism farms, the comfortable Biancospino Lodge, which is well known for its delicious Calabrian specialties and in a B&B.



Detailed Programme

1st day: Arrival
Arrival at the Lamezia Terme Airport. After having picked up your rental car, you will drive along the Tyrrhenian coast towards the southern part of Calabria. Here you will stay in an agriturism farm situated in the middle of a bergamot grove.

2nd day: Following the footsteps of the Greeks

You will start your Aspromonte week hiking up to Bova, the main town in the Area Grecanica (Calabria’s Greek area). Here the majority of older people still speak Greek. After that, you will return to your accommodation passing by the ruins of the Amendolea Castle; on the way we will enjoy the breathtaking landscape of the area. Late in the afternoon we you can take a walk in the bergamot plantation. (Duration: about 5 hours; altitude: 650 m).

 3rd day: Valley of the Big Stones

It is time to leave the Greek area . Today your trip takes you around the southern tip of Calabria up to Capo Bruzzano, an important breeding site of the caretta caretta sea turtles. And what about a short, relaxing walk on the beach? Then you will be ready to continue your walk up the mountain through beautiful meadows and to Pietra Cappa: the most spectacular monolith of the Valley of the Big Stones. On the way you will come across some unique rock formations known as Rocche di San Pietro (St. Peter’s Rocks) which were formerly a place where the Basilian monks took refuge. From there you can have another gorgeous view over the Ionian sea. You will then drive to Ciminà, where your second agriturism farm is situated. (Duration: about 4.5 hours; altitude: 420 m).

4th day: Mount Tre Pizzi also known as the Three Sisters
Today, the first part of your hike will take you to Ciminà first and to Mount Tre Pizzi later. From the summit of the Tre Pizzi, three sharp peaks rising prominently into the sky, which are also called the Three Sisters, you can enjoy a breathtaking view over the Ionian coast. After the descent, you will have enough time for a walk in the 29 hectares of your agriturism farm or to hop over to the picturesque town of Gerace. (Duration: 5 hours; altitude: 450 m).

5th  day: Panoramic view on the Aspromonte

Today a new adventure is waiting for you: your itinerary takes you in the mountain, through a thick beech forest, up to your new accommodation, the Biancospino Lodge. From here you will walk to Mount Fistocchio and enjoy the magnificent view over both sides of Calabria. You will also admire the rocks of the monoliths, Pietra Castello and the villages of Delianova and Scido. You can even admire other two important peaks of Aspromonte: Montalto and Pietra Tagliata. There is also a heap of ruins belonging to an ancient military observation post situated in a privileged position where it was possible in the past, to control both sides of Calabria: the Tyrrhenian and the Ionian coasts. (Duration: about 3.5 hours; altitude: 300 m).

6th  day: On the top of Montalto

Today you cannot miss a highlight of your holiday, a hike to the top of Montalto (1956m), the highest mountain in Aspromonte. You will start at your accommodation and walk through a wonderful beech and white fir forest up to the summit which during spring is often still covered in snow. It is fascinating to observe how the trees have been changed by the snow and wind the higher you go. The view is unique: you can contemporaneously see the Straits of Messina, Mt Etna, the Ionian and Tyrrhenian seas, the Aeolian Islands and the southern top of the Apennines. (Duration: about 6.5 hours; altitude: 700m).

7th day: Breathtaking Sea-View

Today it is time to see the Tyrrhenian coast. Walking down from the top of St. Elia, along the steep mountainside, you will enjoy the gorgeous view over the Costa Viola and, when there is no mist, over the Eolian Islands and the Strait of Messina. After the hiking tour you will take a short drive south to the picturesque village of Scilla to follow in the footsteps of Odysseus. You will find there your last accommodation, a B&B situated near the sea. (Duration: about 3 hours; altitude: 300 m).

8th  day: Ride back to the airport and departure

Today it's time to say "Arrivederci". You drive northward along the coast to the Lamezia Terme Airport, return your rental car and take lots of impressions home.

 

Services:
 
  • 4 nights in agritourism farms in double room including half board
  • 2 nights in the Biancospino Lodge in double room including half board
  • 1 night in B&B in double room including breakfast
  • 7 days rental car cat. A from/to Lamezia Terme Airport
  • Maps and precise descriptions for hiking and driving
 

Price:

 
  • € 660,00 per person

Please contact us for further information, quotations and bookings at 0039 348 44 50 890 or at info@sabinement.com.

back

 

Sabine Ment

Guida turistico-ambientale

Via Vittorio Emanuele 163, I-89862 Brattiṛ, P.IVA 02251400798

Tel. 0039 348 4450890          info@sabinement.com

Wandern individuell

 
Darf ich mich vorstellen?
Die Wandergebiete Kalabriens
Wanderprogramm 2017
Wanderreisen
Tagesausflüge
Wanderideen
Aspromonte  National-park auf eigene Faust
Kleine & grosse Gruppen
Kulinarisches
Anreise
Kontakt & Buchungen

 

                
info@sabinement.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

1. April - 2. Juli 2017          26. August - 22. Oktober 2017

"Aspromonte-Nationalpark auf eigene Faust"

Entdecken Sie den Aspromonte-Nationalpark auf eigene Faust, ausgerüstet mit einem Mietwagen, Kartenmaterial, präzisen Wegbeschreibungen für Wanderungen und Autofahrt sowie zahlreichen Tipps. Folgen Sie Ihrem eigenen Rhythmus im Einklang mit der Natur, halten Sie an, wann und wo Sie möchten, tun Sie genau das, worauf Sie Lust haben. Wandern Sie über bunte Blumenwiesen und auf den Spuren der Griechen durch beinahe ausgetrocknete Flussbetten, durchstreifen Sie Bergamotte-Plantagen, folgen Sie den Pfaden der Ziegen! Die Wanderungen dauern zwischen 3 und 6,5 Stunden und lassen Sie jeden Tag ein neues Stückchen der landschaftlichen Vielfalt im Aspromonte entdecken. Als Unterkunft dienen Ihnen zwei Agritourismus-Betriebe, die komfortable Biancospino-Hütte, wo Sie nach Strich und Faden mit kalabresischen Spezialitäten verwöhnt werden sowie ein B&B.



Detailprogramm

1. Tag: Ankunft

Ankunft am Flughafen Lamezia Terme, Übernahme des Mietwagens und Fahrt entlang der tyrrhenischen Küste an die Südspitze Kalabriens, wo Sie Ihre Unterkunft inmitten einer Bergamotte-Plantage beziehen.

2. Tag: Auf den Spuren der Griechen

Beginnen Sie Ihre Aspromonte-Woche ganz gemütlich und wandern Sie nach Bova, dem Hauptort der „Area grecanica“, jener Gegend, in der die alten Leute noch heute griechisch sprechen. Nach einem Rundgang durch den Ort geht es wieder abwärts vorbei an den Ruinen des Schlosses von Amendolea. Der späte Nachmittag bietet sich zum durchstreifen der Bergamottegärten an. (Wanderdauer: ca. 5 Std., Höhenmeter: 650 m)

 3. Tag: Das Tal der grossen Steine

Es ist Zeit, sich von der „Area grecanica“ zu verabschieden. Ihre Fahrt führt Sie weiter um die Südspitze Kalabriens herum bis ans Capo Bruzzano, einem wichtigen Brutplatz der Meeresschildkröte „Caretta caretta“. Wie wäre es mit einem kleinen Strandspaziergang? Nun geht die Fahrt aufwärts in die Berge. Ihre heutige Wanderung führt Sie über Weiden und rund um Pietra Cappa, den spektakulärsten Monolithen im „Tal der grossen Steine“. Während der Wanderung stossen Sie auf besondere Felsformationen, die einst von Basilianermönchen ausgehöhlt und als Zufluchtsort verwendet worden sind, bekannt unter dem Namen „Rocche di San Pietro“ (Die Felsen des heiligen Petrus). Nach der Wanderung geht Ihre Fahrt weiter nach Ciminà, wo Sie Ihr zweites Quartier in einem Agriturismus-Betrieb beziehen. (Dauer: ca. 4,5 Std., Höhenmeter: 420 m)

4. Tag: Monte Tre Pizzi oder die drei Schwestern

Heute wandern Sie wieder direkt ab Unterkunft zuerst bis zu dem Ort Ciminà und danach weiter zum Gipfel des Monte Tre Pizzi, drei markant in den Himmel ragenden Bergspitzen, die auch „Die drei Schwestern“ genannt werden. Von hier geniessen Sie eine herrliche Aussicht auf die ionische Küste und auf die hohen Spitzen des Aspromonte. Nach dem Abstieg bleibt genügend Zeit, um einen Rundgang durch den 29 Hektaren grossen Landwirtschaftsbetrieb oder einen Abstecher in die malerische Stadt Gerace zu machen. (Dauer: 5 Std., Höhenmeter: 420 m)

5. Tag: Panoramablick auf den Aspromonte

Es heisst wieder einmal aufzubrechen zu neuen Abenteuern. Ihre Fahrt geht in die Berge, durch herrliche Buchenwälder bis zu Ihrer neuen Unterkunft, der Biancospino-Hütte. Von hier brechen Sie auf zum Gipfel des „Monte Fistocchio“, von wo aus sich eine herrliche Sicht auf beide Seiten Kalabriens, die typischen Felsen des Monolithen „Pietra Castello“ und die Dörfer Delianova und Scido bietet. Man erkennt auch die anderen Spitzen des Aspromonte: Montalto und Pietra Tagliata. Einige Trümmerhaufen gehören zu einem antiken militärischen Beobachtungsposten, einem privilegierten Punkt, von dem aus der Verbindungsweg von der ionischen zur tyrrhenischen Seite Kalabriens kontrolliert werden konnte. (Dauer: ca. 3,5 Std., Höhenmeter: 300 m) 

6. Tag: Auf der Spitze des Montalto

Natürlich darf die Wanderung auf den höchsten Berg im Aspromonte, den Montalto mit seinen 1956 m.ü.M. nicht fehlen. Sie starten direkt ab Hütte und wandern durch herrliche Buchen- und Weisstannenwälder zum Gipfel, der im Frühling oft noch schneebedeckt ist. Es ist interessant zu beobachten, wie sich der Wuchs der Bäume wegen des Schnees und des Windes von majestätischen Exemplaren zu schwachen, verkrüppelten Büschen hin verändert, je höher man kommt und je mehr man sich dem Gipfel nähert. Der Ausblick ist einmalig schön: man kann gleichzeitig die Meerenge von Messina, den Ätna, das ionische und das tyrrhenische Meer, die Äolischen Inseln und die südlichste Spitze des Appenins sehen. (Dauer: ca. 6,5 Std, Höhenmeter: 700 m)

7. Tag: Herrliche Meersicht

Nun geht es erstmals an die tyrrhenische Küste. Sie steigen vom Gipfel des Monte S. Elia ab und wandern an der steil zum Meer hin abfallenden Bergflanke entlang. Bei klarem Wetter bietet sich ein herrlicher Blick auf die Costa Viola, die Äolischen Inseln und die Meerenge von Messina. Nach der Wanderung fahren Sie ein Stückchen südwärts nach Scilla und wandeln auf Odysseus Spuren durch den malerischen Fischerort. Hier befindet sich auch Ihre letzte Unterkunft, ein B&B-Betrieb direkt am Meer. (Dauer: ca. 3 Std., Höhenmeter: 300 m)

8. Tag: Fahrt zum Flughafen und Abreise

Heute heisst es, endgültig Abschied zu nehmen. Sie fahren gemütlich an der Küste entlang nordwärts bis zum Flughafen Lamezia, geben Ihren Mietwagen wieder ab und nehmen tausend Eindrücke mit nach Hause.

 
Leistungen:
 
  • 4 Übernachtungen in Agriturismus-Betrieben im Doppelzimmer inkl. Halbpension
  • • 2 Übernachtungen in der Biancospino-Hütte im Doppelzimmer inkl. Halbpension
  • 1 Übernachtung im B&B im Doppelzimmer inkl. Frühstück
  • 7 Tage Mietwagen Kat. A ab/bis Flughafen Lamezia Terme
  • Kartenmaterial und präzise Wegbeschreibungen für Wanderungen und Autofahrt
 

Preis:

 
  • € 660,00 pro Person

Für weitere Informationen, Offerten und Buchungen kontaktieren Sie uns bitte unter Tel. 0039 348 44 50 890 oder info@sabinement.com.

back

 

Sabine Ment

Guida turistico-ambientale

Via Vittorio Emanuele 163, I-89862 Brattirò, P.IVA 02251400798

Tel. 0039 348 4450890          info@sabinement.com