The Serre Regional Park

 
May I introduce myself?
Hiking Areas in Calabria
Capo Vaticano / Monte Poro
Aspromonte National Park
Serre Regional Park
Pollino National Park
Hiking Programme 2014
Small & Large Groups
Culinary Delights
How to get there
Contact & Booking
News from the Blog

 

 
info@sabinement.com

 

The Serre Regional Park has been established in 2004, has an area of about 17'000 hectares and is hardly developed for hiking which means that there are only very few marked trails.

Green heart of the Park are the never-ending beech forests on the Tyrrhenian side. They house one of the cultural and spiritual centers of the area: the Charterhouse of Serra San Bruno, founded by Saint Bruno of Cologne in 1091, where monks still live in strict seclusion today.
On the Ionian side, however, you can finde the mightiest waterfall in Calabria, the Cascata di Marmarico. Its water falls around 118 meters in depth. Already near to the Ionian coast the landscape is bare and wild. Here you can find the second jewel of the Serre, the Cattolica, a small Byzantine church from the 9th Century AD.

Walking in Serre Regional Park is not only a unique experience of nature, but also means to deal with the history of the Byzantine and Norman domination in Calabria and to walk in the footsteps of St. Bruno of Cologne and Greek Orthodox monks.


 

back

 

 

Sabine Ment

Guida turistico-ambientale

Via Vittorio Emanuele 163, I-89862 Brattirò, P.IVA 02251400798

Tel. 0039 348 4450890          info@sabinement.com

Der Serre-Regionalpark

 
Darf ich mich vorstellen?
Die Wandergebiete Kalabriens
Capo Vaticano /Monte Poro
Aspromonte-Nationalpark
Serre-Regionalpark
Pollino-Nationalpark
Wanderprogramm 2017
Kleine & grosse Gruppen
Kulinarisches
Anreise
Kontakt & Buchungen

 

 
info@sabinement.com

 

Der Serre-Regionalpark wurde erst 2004 gegründet, ist rund 17'000 Hektaren gross und wandertechnisch noch kaum erschlossen, d.h. es gibt bisher nur ganz wenige markierte Wege.
Grünes Herz des Parks sind die nicht enden wollenden Buchenwälder auf der tyrrhenischen Seite. Sie beherbergen eines der kulturellen Zentren der Gegend: die 1091 vom Hl. Bruno gegründete Karthause, in der heute noch Mönche in strengster Klausur leben.
Auf der ionischen Seite hingegen befindet sich der grösste Wasserfall Kalabriens, die Cascata di Marmarico. Das Wasser stürzt hier rund 118 Meter in die Tiefe. Schon zur ionischen Küste hin wird die Landschaft karg und wild. Hier befindet sich das zweite Juwel der Serre, die Cattolica, eine kleine byzantinische Kirche aus dem 9. Jh.n.Chr.

Im Serre-Regionalpark zu wandern ist nicht nur ein einmaliges Naturerlebnis, sondern bedeutet auch, sich mit der Geschichte der byzantinischen und normannischen Herrschaft in Kalabrien auseinanderzusetzen und auf den Spuren des Heiligen Bruno von Köln und griechisch-orthodoxer Mönche zu wandeln.


 

 

back

 

 

Sabine Ment

Guida turistico-ambientale

Via Vittorio Emanuele 163, I-89862 Brattirò, P.IVA 02251400798

Tel. 0039 348 4450890          info@sabinement.com