Monte Poro / Capo Vaticano

 
May I introduce myself?
Hiking Areas in Calabria
Capo Vaticano / Monte Poro
Aspromonte National Park
Serre Regional Park
Pollino National Park
Hiking Programme 2014
Small & Large Groups
Culinary Delights
How to get there
Contact & Booking
News from the Blog

 

                
info@sabinement.com

One could say that the Monte Poro with its area of about 500 sqare kilometers and its 710 meters above sea level forms the wart on Italy's toe, with on its extreme tip Capo Vaticano with its wonderful rocky coves and the town of Tropea. It is the realm of red onion of Tropea and the area where formerly houses were built of home-made mud bricks, the so-called Bresti.

Who chooses his accommodation here, during his vacation can enjoy the beautiful beaches and the crystal clear sea and combine hiking and swimming in an ideal way.

Walking on the Monte Poro means to take a trip back in time. There are no trails but only the old paths which were used by the farmers with their donkeys before the tractors came into fashion. And so our routes pass throug olive and orange groves, and often we have to fight our way through the both  equally colorful a prickly Mediterranean vegetation, where former intensively cultivated land now lies fallow and abandoned and is overgrown with all kinds of shrubbery.
On our way past lonely farms and old mills, we will constantly encounter shepherds and old farmers who like to tell stories of the old times and will so grant us an insight into the culture of this area.

 cultu
Combine hiking and swimming in an ideal way in the hiking week around Capo Vaticano.

back

 

Sabine Ment

Guida turistico-ambientale

Via Vittorio Emanuele 163, I-89862 Brattirò, P.IVA 02251400798

Tel. 0039 348 4450890          info@sabinement.com

Monte Poro / Capo Vaticano

 
Darf ich mich vorstellen?
Die Wandergebiete Kalabriens
Capo Vaticano /Monte Poro
Aspromonte-Nationalpark
Serre-Regionalpark
Pollino-Nationalpark
Wanderprogramm 2017
Kleine & grosse Gruppen
Kulinarisches
Anreise
Kontakt & Buchungen

 

                
info@sabinement.com

 

Man könnte sagen, dass der Monte Poro mit seiner Fläche von rund 500 Quadratkilometer und seinen 710 m.ü.M. die Warze an der Stiefelspitze bildet, an deren äusserster Spitze sich Capo Vaticano mit seinen herrlichen Felsbuchten und das Städtchen Tropea befinden. Es ist das Reich der roten Zwiebel von Tropea und die Gegend, in der früher die Häuser aus selbst gemachten Lehmziegeln, den sogenannten Bresti, gebaut wurden.
Wer seine Unterkunft hier wählt, wann während seines Urlaubs die wunder-schönen Strände und das kristallklare Meer geniessen und so Wandern und Baden auf ideale Weise verbinden.

Auf dem Monte Poro zu wandern bedeutet, eine Reise in vergangene Zeiten zu unternehmen. Es gibt hier keine Wanderwege sondern nur die alten Pfade, die von den Bauern mit ihren Eseln benutzt wurden, bevor die Traktoren in Mode kamen. Und so führen unsere Wanderungen durch Oliven- und Orangenhaine, und oft müssen wir uns einen Weg durch die ebenso farbenfrohe wie stachelige Macchia Mediterranea bahnen, wo einst intensiv bewirtschaftetes Land verlassen und brach liegt und von allerlei Strauchwerk überwuchert ist.
Auf unserem Weg vorbei an einsamen Gehöften und alten Mühlen begegnen wir immer wieder Hirten und alten Bauern, die gerne Geschichten aus alten Zeiten erzählen und uns so einen Einblick in die Kultur dieser Gegend gewähren.

Verbinden Sie Wandern und Baden auf ideale Art und Weise bei der Wanderwoche rund um Capo Vaticano

 

back

 

Sabine Ment

Guida turistico-ambientale

Via Vittorio Emanuele 163, I-89862 Brattirò, P.IVA 02251400798

Tel. 0039 348 4450890          info@sabinement.com